Skip to content

LaSalle announces 2017 Youth Rotary winner

Youth Edwin Martin has been chosen by LaSalle staff to receive the 2017 Rotary Youth Achievement Award from the Rotary Club of Albany.

On May 17th, Edwin and his guests will attend a luncheon joining with Rotary Youth Award winners from St. Anne Institute, Northern Rivers, St. Catherine’s Center for Children and Families and Equinox, Inc. to receive the award. The awards luncheon will be held at the American Legion Zaloga Post, 4 Everett Road Extension, Albany, NY.

Edwin’s perseverance and determination to ‘jump in to help at the annual Christmas party working over two hours washing dishes’ perfectly fit the criteria established by the Albany Rotary when founding this Youth Award.

Other comments from staff nominating Edwin included: “Polite and helpful young man,” “easy going and pleasant to be around,” “Edwin ignores peer conflicts and provocations,” “displays consistent good behavior, makes good effort in his class work,” “Edwin has applied for an OCFS summer internship” and “he has plans for attending HVCC when he graduates.”

An afternoon ice cream social will be held on May 24th in LaSalle’s cafeteria for the 20 students who were nominated from LaSalle. At that time, Albany Rotarian and LaSalle Trustee William Nathan will present Rotary certificates of appreciation to all LaSalle nominees.

LaSalle School is a leader in programs and services for youth and families in crisis offering a variety of programs designed to meet their needs including specialized residential placement, day service education, and alternative to detention services. The Counseling Center at LaSalle is an OMH and OASAS licensed outpatient behavioral health clinic located at LaSalle School, and currently implementing ACE treatment practices with youth and families. LaSalle is accredited by the Council on Accreditation (COA), and affiliated with the Council of Family and Child Caring Agencies (COFCCA), and the national Alliance for Strong Families and Communities. LaSalle is a member of The New York State Coalition of 853 Schools.

Back To Top